Africa witness

People’s voice

Inside the Fake healers shrine

with 12 comments


A local South African Sangoma at work.

By Hassan Isilow
INVESTIGATIVE FEATURE: In South Africa, the word sangoma refers to a person who practices herbal medicine or has supernatural healing powers. This week Africa witness went undercover to investigate the activities of a growing number of foreign sangoma’s (traditional healers) that operate within Cape Town and its environs.

Under cover

It is 9:30am on Wednesday morning and I’m sitting in a queue with four other clients waiting for the services of a sangoma in a well furnished office in Loop Street, Cape Town. Just like any other organised business, the traditional healer has a receptionist sitting at the front desk with a computer. She asks for R70 which she says is consultation fees for seeing the “doctor”. Being on a special assignment, I oblige and pay the money. A fellow “patient” waiting with me in the queue is an elderly Muslim woman who tells me her youngest son has “bad luck” and cannot stay on a job for long. So she wants the sangoma to give him herbs for good luck .I silently wonder if this is possible.
At exactly 10am, I’m led into the traditional healer’s office by the young female receptionist. It is a very dark and smelly room. I cannot see anything, but hear voices of so-called “ancestors”. The sangoma who calls himself “Dr” Mutalemwa Yusuf, asks me to tell him my problems.
I lie to him, saying that I cannot find a bride and I urgently need one. The healer then tells me to make sacrifice by buying two goats, a white African hen and food stuffs to appease my ancestors, who he claims are unhappy with me. In a twist of events, he also tells me that a close family friend has bewitched me and I will need to pay R12, 000 ($2,000) to be cleansed by the sangoma.

All Lies

As I leave the sangoma’s shrine, I meet an old varsity friend from East Africa who asks me what I was doing there. He tells me he was also a sangoma when he first arrived in South Africa, before getting a formal job. My friend said since most “blacks” and a few of the other races believe in superstition and the powers of the ancestors, it created the perfect opportunity for unemployed foreigners and a few local con artists to take advantage.
He said since sangomas are considered to be holy men and women who can bring good luck to their communities and chase away evil spirits (tokoloshes), they hold a certain power in the community. These powers are never questioned, which has made most unemployed or unskilled foreign nationals join the lucrative alternative healing market, promising the highly superstitious “black” and a few others South African races “heaven on earth”.
Interestingly enough, he added, a high number of these “fake” foreign sangomas are from East Africa and they claim to cure all sorts of illnesses that even the most powerful local sangomas dare not treat.

Spill the beans

The former sangoma told me that he had never had any training to become a traditional healer, but when he arrived in South Africa, he couldn’t readily find employment. So he went to visit a friend from his home country who told him about the secret of being a “fake” sangoma. “Just like other sangomas, I claimed to make the poor rich in two days, bring back lost lovers and make men’s private parts bigger and more virile. But after lying to my clients for a long time, I decided to quit the practice, pursue my masters degree and here I’m now,” he related, chatting to me in a restaurant in Loop Street, Cape Town.
The former sangama said he left the “fake” trade because his conscience began to bother him after repeatedly cheating poor people who came to him daily with their problems. “At times I used to cry at night, after telling several lies to people who came to my shrine with various depressing problems. I kept running from city to city in this country, as I was being hunted by some people whom I had promised would see change in their lives. But it never happened,” he said with regret.
I’ve also learnt that most foreign Sangomas promise to protect businesses from thieves, win court cases and the Lotto among others. Because of these claims, the foreign sangomas are considered to be the hottest healers in the witch craft business. “It would have been better if these people could deliver their promises,” a 35 year old South African school teacher who went to a foreign sangoma seeking the return of his lost lover, told me.
Identifying himself only as Rasheed, he confided that he had paid R14, 000($2200) to a sangoma from East Africa who then quietly disappeared. “I lost both my lover and my money to that devil. I promise, I will believe only in God from today onwards,” the wounded man pledged.

Quacks

However, a 65-year-old Ugandan national who operates as a sangoma in Wynberg near Cape Town, disputed the allegations that all foreign sangomas are “fake” and cheats. “Those fake doctors are the young boys who came here recently. Since they did not find jobs, they began to imitate what we do.” The elderly Ugandan sangoma who operates his business in a well-furnished office in Wynberg said he was a genuine traditional healer, bragging that he is even well known among Ugandan communities.
“I have treated all sorts of people – politicians seeking to win elections, scholars, love seekers and the like. They have all become what they are today because of my powers,” he boasted, spreading his arms in a sign of confidence used mostly by healers in East and West Africa. He recalled that when he arrived in Cape Town in 1997, there were only a few foreign traditional healers. That created the space for them to corner the market in their “profession”.
Whenever they returned to Uganda, their neighbors and family members insisted on coming with them to South Africa, which led to an influx of Ugandan healers in South Africa. “On average, I get 10 clients a day and each pays R70 for consultation, besides the fees I charge them for the medicine,” he said.

Why Muslim Names?

Shockingly most of these foreign traditional healers are using Muslim names, even when they are non-Muslims. Out of 10 muti shops I visited today, eight had Muslim names. I picked up nearly 20 different pamphlets advertising the sangomas expertise and in three quarter of them, the healer had a Muslim name.
The foreign sangomas believe when you use a Muslim name in your “practice” you will attract many clients, especially in Cape Town where there is a high Muslim population. These sangomas target Muslim suburbs such as Wynberg, Athlone and Gatesville among others.
According to the chairperson of the South African Traditional Healers Organisation, Phepsile Maseko, bogus practitioners are bringing the healing sector into disrepute. “The practice of traditional healing is genuine, but when bogus people join the uncontrolled business it becomes difficult to distinguish between the real healer and the fake ones,” she said.
Police in Pretoria recently, arrested seven Ugandan herbalists who had been operating in the city for reportedly defrauding their clients. The latest arrest came after a Ugandan herbalist allegedly took R15, 000($2300) from a customer, claiming that his ancestors would turn it into R100 million. When the victim returned to collect his promised millions, the Ugandan herbalist become aggressive and promised to bewitch his victim if he insisted on demanding the money.

According to Gauteng Provisional police spokesperson, Eugene Opperman, they have arrested around five bogus herbalists believed to be Ugandans across the city in just four months. Authorities said these conmen claimed to have the power to make people rich or even cure illnesses, such as HIV/Aids. They often advertise in pamphlets and newspapers so as to woo the gullible.
It is understood that after meeting their victims and promising to make them rich, these conmen would take the money and disappear. In January 2008, 20 Ugandan healers were arrested in Johannesburg for carrying out illegal abortions.

Written by africawitness

February 11, 2011 at 11:33 am

Posted in Xenophobia

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. at this point im realy dissapointed at the way foreiners are taking advantages at our country.i know a young man at kuruman,opposite to standard bank,pharmacy.my friend went for consultation because of the problems of this life.for help i say.the sangoma ask for R100 consultation.later during the consultation he requested her to switch off the lights for the spirit and ancestors to come and talk to her.to reavel the source of the problem he say.he then switch off the candle leaving the room dark surrounded by black curtains.she was hearing a strange voice claimed to be the spirit.the spirit ask for R4000 to buy cow for sacrifies.to bring the wood too.in which she did.now the sangoma asked her to consult again.she was presented with box fool of money claimed to be hers if she can get a loan for R200 000.because she is desperate for help she will do it.why are people so cruel out there.how do we stop those foreiners.what they are doing is fraul and corruption.now the poor women must get loans from the bank unneccessary.please help to stop this monters in our country.they are making real healears to be doubted.

    olga

    May 11, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • how do we stop this? the public must know about this, the news/tv must help. they must be lock up and if they see the south africans will not take this lies steeling the money of the hard working south africans then they will go away bit for bit

      c

      May 23, 2012 at 6:49 pm

  2. a certain Ismail from Uganda promised to help me get my luck back, i, from rosettenville,johannesburg, gauteng, south-Africa trusted him and paid 200 000 rand in his bank accounts: fnb sanua tours and travel, account:62326465871 and absa bank sbukenya, account: 9206759987 and fnb mutebi ismail account: 62280966791, now after 3 months of waiting i started asking questions and now they phone me with number: 0791472817, and threaten me with my life, what may i do

    ernest

    June 13, 2012 at 10:29 am

    • Your money is gone.Forget it or track them down and deal with them.
      You must be stupid to give someoneR 200,000

      Jane

      October 28, 2012 at 4:20 pm

      • i got caught up with a sangoma and paid him 52000 rands, how can i recover this monies from him

        santosh

        February 1, 2013 at 10:45 am

  3. I HAVE VISITED A HERBALIST IN CAPETOWN ,CALLED DR GAVIN NUMBER 0786762927 ,THE ONLY HERBALIST I TRUST HE PROMISED TO GET MONEY AND MY WIFE BACK WITH IN 2 WEEKS I GOT MONEY FROM LOTTO AND MY WIFE WAS BACK
    I ADVISE THE COMMUNITY ALWAYS TO TRUST PEOPLE BEFOR GIVING THEM TRUST
    MAXWELL CAPETOWN.

    MAX

    March 8, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    • Hi Maxwell how much did you win? and how much did you pay this doctor?

      John

      April 3, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    • Maxwell I would like to speak to you

      imran

      May 18, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    • Maxwell r u one of them this fake traditional healers,why r u in dr Gavin’s web ha,your a prof Maxwell@u say that u can help with lot of spell,then here u say that the real guy is Gavin,something is fishing here,your working with them.

      steven

      July 11, 2013 at 11:40 am

  4. Hi I have been in the same situation as some of you. I’m trying to get my wife back. Do anybody know of a reputable dr that can help me. Thanks

    imran

    May 19, 2013 at 6:13 am

  5. Hi there’s a so called traditional healer in pretoria east who took my wedding rings and he doesn’t want to give me back, how can I get it back. I know where he stays in newlands, he calls himself dr. Imran

    fatima

    June 4, 2013 at 4:32 pm

  6. People should learn that a real nyanga doesn’t advertise him /or herself. People please don’t be fooled by magic these con nyangas perform that makes you beleave that they are genuine. And I wonder where they get those magic. How can one cure a problem by paying R100 000? A real sangoma gives help and pay after you successful.

    Happy

    December 12, 2014 at 8:53 am


Leave a comment